Interfacing Structure and Reactions at the Centre of the Atom

Invited Speakers
Conference City
First Circular
Talks and Posters
Contact Us
Related Links
Post Kernz08

NZ Time

Download Poster (pdf)

(pdf version)

First Circular
Interfacing Structure and Reactions
 at the Centre of the Atom,
International Conference, 1 - 5 December 2008, at  Queenstown, New Zealand  

The First International Conference on Interfacing Structure and Reactions in Nuclear Physics will be held in Queenstown, New Zealand, on 1 - 5 December 2008.

Kernz08 aims at bringing together a wide spectrum of research activities, both theoretical and experimental, that combine nuclear structure and nuclear reactions, as well as applications such as nuclear astrophysics. Though these research directions often involve different sub-communities of nuclear physicists, we would like to see the interplay between these fields strengthen and unify nuclear physics itself. It is therefore of utmost importance to bring researchers from disparate scientific groups in close contact in order to a) discuss common problems, b) present recent results, c) become informed about the latest developments in theory as well as about the most recent achievements in experiments. We plan on having lead speakers to provide topical overviews, as well as shorter talks with time for fruitful discussions.

The Conference will be held at the Millennium Hotel, Queenstown, in the southern regions of the South Island of New Zealand. See for local attractions. A block of rooms has been reserved at the conference rate: Queenstown has direct air connections with Christchurch, Auckland and Sydney. There will be air, river and lake excursions available, as well as tours of the local Pinot Noir wine district.

Those interested in attending this Conference should complete the Questionnaire at , and return this to before the 1st March, or as soon as possible. Registration and fee information will be given in the Second Circular.

Invited Speakers

Ken Amos (Melbourne)

Nori Aoi (RIKEN)

Thomas Aumann (GSI)

Yorick Blumenfeld (IN2P3/CERN) *

Rick Casten (Yale)

Wilton Catford (Surrey)

Barry Davids (Triumf) 

David Dean (ORNL)

George Dracoulis (ANU) *

Dmitri Fedorov (Aarhus) *

Antonio Fonseca (Lisboa)

Hans Fynbo (Aarhus) *

Stephane Goriely (ULB) *

Leonid Grigorenko (Dubna) *

Sotirios Harissopulos (Demokritos) *

David Hinde (ANU)

Andrea Jungclaus (Madrid)

Beatriz Jurado (CENBG) *

Toshio Kobayashi (Tohoku)

Karlheinz Langanke (GSI)

C.J. (Kim) Lister (ANL)

Wolfgang Mittig (NSCL) *

Antonio Moro (Sevilla) *

Tohru Motobayashi (RIKEN)

Peter Navratil (LLNL) *

Gerda Neyens (Leuven) *

Takaharu Otsuka (Tokyo) *

Marek Ploszajczak (GANIL) *

Manuela Rodríguez Gallardo (Lisboa)

Hendrik Schatz (MSU)

Peter Schwerdtfeger (Massey, Auckland)

Sunniva Siem (Oslo)

Andrew Stuchbery (ANU)

Isao Tanihata (Osaka)

Stefan Typel (TUM/GSI) *

Remco Zegers (MSU)
* to be confirmed


Organising Committee


Ian Thompson (LLNL / Surrey)  [chair]
Filomena Nunes (MSU, East Lansing)
Anna Wilson  (ANU, Canberra)

International Advisory Committee

Daniel Baye (ULB, Brussels)

Wilton Catford (Surrey, Guildford)

Vivian Demetriou (Demokritos, Athens) 

Antonio Fonseca (UL, Lisbon)

Bernard Haas (CENBG, Bordeaux) 


Mahir Hussein (USP São Paulo / Dresden) 

Ron Johnson (Surrey, Guildford)

Reiner Krücken (TUM, München) 

John Millener (Brookhaven, New York)

Dominique Guillemaud Mueller  (IPN, Orsay)

Takashi Nakamura (TIT, Tokyo)

Witold Nazarewicz (ORNL and UT) 

Erich Ormand (LLNL, Livermore) 

Nigel Orr (LPC, Caen) 

David Radford (ORNL, Oak Ridge)

Peter Schwerdtfeger (Massey, Auckland)


1 March:

Return of questionnaire.

1 June:

Second Circular.

1 June:

Registration & Accommodation bookings open (increased rate after 1 Sept.)

1 July:

Abstract submission (these may be revised up to 1 Nov.)

1 August:

Preliminary programme available.


Communications should be sent preferably by e-mail to:
or by mail or fax to:

Ian Thompson
Lawrence Livermore Laboratory,
L-414, PO Box 808,
Livermore, CA 94551, USA.
Fax: +1 925 422 5940.

Web page:
Up to date information about the Conference is available at

Home:      Physics Contact:        Local Contact: